AGW Observer

Observations of anthropogenic global warming

Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Climate Change

Posted by Ari Jokimäki on July 10, 2010

Lately I have gotten familiar with the climate science journals as I have been writing some news pieces to Finnish people. One of the journals I have noticed is from Wiley Interscience and it is called “Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Climate Change”. This journal publishes all kinds of review articles on issues relating to climate. For an amateur like me, review articles are very important. They are scientific articles but yet they are written in a language that an amateur can understand. Sure there are occasions when even a review article goes too complicated for me but still they usually are very readable.

This Wiley Interscience journal has just started – it only has two issues published. First issue contains papers from Judith Lean (“Cycles and trends in solar irradiance and climate”) and Spencer Weart (“The idea of anthropogenic global climate change in the 20th century”). There are lot of other interesting papers too in that issue.

Second issue has Peter Stott et al’s “Detection and attribution of climate change: a regional perspective” among others. The early view articles (at the time of the writing) has David Frank et al’s “A noodle, hockey stick, and spaghetti plate: a perspective on high-resolution paleoclimatology” and J. Annan’s “Bayesian approaches to detection and attribution”. Even deniers are kept happy as there’s Roger Pielke Jr’s “The Carbon Economy and Climate Mitigation: an editorial essay”. I wrote in Finnish about the Piquet’s “Linking climate change, environmental degradation, and migration: a methodological overview” and I’m sure that I will use many of the articles published in this journal in the future. They have one important thing why I’m especially interested in this journal – they offer all of their articles for free to everyone (edited to add: I thank Wiley Interscience for that) (edited to add 2: it seems that issue 1 papers are not freely available but they must be purchased).

If you are interested in climate science, I suggest you dig into the papers published by this journal. I know I will.

7 Responses to “Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Climate Change”

  1. I’m not sure I even qualify as an amateur – a dilettante perhaps is more accurate – but as such, I appreciate that tip! Thank you and now please go back to your vacation!

  2. they offer all of their articles for free to everyone

    I cannot access any of the papers. It says I must purchase it…

    - You can purchase online access to this article for a 24-hour period. Articles prices vary by title.
    – Some material is available through national provision licenses. To check your location details, see User Info.
    – If you would like to receive institutional access to this content, Recommend to Your Librarian.

  3. Ari Jokimäki said

    I was offline for a week (vacationing in a lakeside cottage), just got back home…

    Jesús wrote:
    I cannot access any of the papers. It says I must purchase it…

    Really? That’s strange. I just tried it again, and for me they open up without a problem and I don’t have any kind of institutional (or such) access. Perhaps they have blocked Spain out of their free distribution… :P

  4. I have checked again and now I see that I cannot access any article in Issue 1, but I can access any other. Never mind, I will enjoy the following issues! :)

  5. Ari Jokimäki said

    Well, it seems that I can’t access issue 1 papers either. Now I started wondering if I ever actually read the full texts of the issue 1 papers, I know I was going to.

  6. Mistery solved! ;-)

  7. James Annan has some comments about this new journal:

    The Editors seem a bunch of slightly unconventional people, a little removed from the mainstream IPCC stalwarts though eminent enough and with some IPCC links: Hulme, Pielke, von Storch, Nicholls, Yohe are names that many will be familiar with. The others are probably all famous too, but I’m too ignorant to recognise them. I’m sure the journal is not intended as a direct rival to the IPCC, but it may turn out to provide an interesting and slightly alternative perspective.

    The articles to date include a mix of authoritative reviews from leading experts – such as Parker on the urban heat island, Stott on detection and attribution, interspersed with perhaps more personal and less authoritative articles

    http://julesandjames.blogspot.com/2010/08/wiley-interdisciplinary-reviews-climate.html

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

